Anniversary

‘twas a year ago

Give or take a week

Or perhaps two

I first laid eyes on you

 

You were so nice

Seemed so caring

Almost perfect even

Or at least I thought so

 

It didn’t take long

Until you fell for me

Not too long before

I began to fall for you, too

 

We would spend nights

Doing our homework,

Carving pumpkins,

And falling in love

 

You made me feel safe

For the first time

I wasn’t alone

Someone understood

 

I told you things

My hopes and dreams

And I believed in you

When you said you loved me

 

I gave you everything

My body, my heart

And I thought

I saw your soul

 

I went away

For the holidays

When I returned in the new year

You were gone

 

How could I know

That one fateful night

Just how fake it all was

How deep your hatred went

 

You blamed me

For things I never did

If that’s false

I didn’t intend to lie

 

You were so mean

Seemed so different

Almost made me question

If you were the monster you described

 

A year has passed

We both moved on

And I’ll never know

How you felt on our anniversary

 

You broke my soul

Shattered my heart

I picked up the pieces

But I think you kept a few

 

Almost a year gone

Yet I replay it all

Stuck in my head

Against my will

 

I can see it all

Every passing hour

Our anniversary

draws closer

 

I don’t want to miss you

It destroys my mental health

Making hard to focus

I wish I didn’t feel this way

 

But I do.

Leave a Reply

