Slow Down

Life

it flies by

too fast

one moment you’re a child

the next you’re on your own

facing the world alone

facing life alone

 

(chorus)

I wish

oh how I wish

I could slow it down

make the world stop spinning

if only just for a day

 

if I could only slow it down

how I want to slow it down

them maybe just maybe

I could remember who I am

 

love

come out wherever you are

I’m right here waiting for you

right here waiting

for you to come find me here

 

I wish

oh how I wish

I could slow it down

make the world stop spinning

if only just for a day

 

if I could only slow it down

how I want to slow it down

them maybe just maybe

I could remember who I was

 

oh if I could fly

If I could slow this down

just for a little while

then maybe

I could just remember

who I am

and who I was before

 

I wish

oh how I wish

I could slow it down

make the world stop spinning

if only just for a day

 

if I could only slow it down

how I want to slow it down

them maybe just maybe

I could remember who I am

 

the past

the past is always here

its always watching

always reminding us

of who we said we’d always be

who we never wanted to be

what we’ve become

and who we are

who we are

 

I wish

oh how I wish

I could slow it down

make the world stop spinning

if only just for a day

 

if I could only slow it down

how I want to slow it down

them maybe just maybe

I could remember who I am

 

I see small children, young children

running around on the dance floor

without a care in the world

other than being tagged “it”

in a game of tag

 

so sweet

innocent

not yet jaded by the world around them

Leave a Reply

