A Kiss Before Lying

Just a kiss

On their lips

Would be such bliss

My heartbeat skips

 

Four pretty girls

In a crazy town

A little black hoodie

Beating them down

 

All that they want

Is to be normal teens

To date normal people

And dream normal dreams

 

Just a kiss

On their lips

Would be such bliss

My heartbeat skips

 

A kiss before lying

Is all that they get

When people are dying

Each text is a threat

 

Through their secrets

And lies they tell

It’s hard not to do this

These girls do it well

 

Each episode I watch

I await each stolen kiss

These forbidden romances

I can never miss

3 thoughts on “A Kiss Before Lying

  1. It started gently enough, and then the string was abruptly cut and it spiraled into something dark and terrible. My heart sank at that moment. It is a serious and urgent truth, these crimes, but what you have accomplished with this poem is to capture the weightlessness between romance and a really, really bad betrayal. That’s a feat.

    1. Thanks! It started out as just another assignment for my AP Literature and Poetry class, but it turned into so much more than that as most of my writing does; for me, anyway. I have to perform it for my midterm next week so I’ll hopefully post a recording of me singing it at some point. I’m glad you like it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

