Wild At Heart (Stallion’s Song)

horse in the sky

I just wanna run

over the hills

through lush emerald meadows

racing with the wind

and the wild eagle soaring above me

in the sapphire sky

I just wanna run

the rhythm of my heart

keeping time with my hooves

that pound the earth

thump thump thump

thump thump thump

thump thump thump

I just wanna run

with my head down

sunshine warming my back

and wind blowing through my mane

I let out a winnie

my shout to the world

announcing that I’m alive and free

and hearing the echoes

bounce off the mountainsides

as I come to the canyons

I slow to a walk

shaking out my majestic mane

and letting out a snort

over the canyons

the sunset turns the sky to flames

of ruby red, gold, and blood orange

and I lower my head

grazing on lush clover and grass

the eagle lands on an ancient sycamore

as I lap at crystal pools

cool on my tongue

after my wild run

my ears flicker around

my herd gathering around me

stallion at my side

keeping watch

as we enjoy the sun’s last rays

he nuzzles my withers

with utter affection

we are wild horses

and we are wild at heart

Leave a Reply

