Growing Up (Goodbyes)

It’s scary to think

in a year from today

everything I have

what I’m used to

what I’ve worked so painstakingly hard for

will be gone

I’ll be miles away

from all my family and friends

embarking on the final leg

of the journey

called growing up

soon my worries won’t be

all prom dates

choir concerts

remembering birthdays

and anniversaries

I’ll have to focus on

exam grades

finding a job

paying off loans

and debating between new or used textbooks

it’s all happening so fast

and yet far too slowly

I’m eager to strike out on my own

but I’m scared of what I may find

it’s all a part of life

part of my destiny

and though I know I need this

I’m scared of what I’ll loose

all my life

I’ve wanted freedom

dreamed of having more choices

and being independent

but now I see

freedom comes at a cost

nothing we have is permanent

nothing guaranteed

not even blood ties

or friendships we swore would last forever

we have to say goodbye

somehow learn to move on

break off the ties built over the years

but promise to stay in touch

this is where we’re meant to be

this is what we have to do

and though it hurts to say or think

you can’t take high school with you

it’s time to say goodbye

or perhaps just see you later

if something is meant to last

set it free

if it comes back

and withstands the test of time

you’ll know it’s meant to be

we all have our ways of moving on

and learning to say goodbye

without breaking

over and over again

these are the crossroads

the point of no return

this baby bird must leave the nest

to one day make her own

I love you all dearly

and I wish you all the very best

I know you’d say the same to me

if you had the chance

this is my last goodbye

I’ll never say it in person

for if I do

I’ll surely loose it

so look to the sky

the stars shining like diamonds

those are my angels

my saving graces

whenever you miss me

look to the heavens

close your eyes and breathe deeply

and I’m right there with you

I love you all dearly

but now we must part

just know

where ever I am

where ever you are

not even a million miles

could keep us apart

one day I’ll be back

we’ll finally reunite

and when you’re in my arms

everything will be

alright

shine brightly

my beloved angels

I’ll see you around

and we’ll share our tales

of finally growing up

I LOVE YOU MY DARLINGS!!!

20131208-005252.jpg

One thought on “Growing Up (Goodbyes)

Leave a Reply

