How A Home Can Heal

It’s been a decade

since I was last here

and when I returned

I was nervous

We both have changed

neither the same

as when I left

(Chorus)

But for the first time

I felt free

everything I am

just faded clean away

For the first time

I could worry about me

who I was

who I am

and who I’m gonna be

As I gaze out at the city

I remember

all the places I’ve been

and just how much

this city is a part of me

It was here I was born

these are my memories

the buildings are my playground

and the people are my friends

And for the first time

I felt free

everything I am

just faded clean away

For the first time

I could worry about me

who I was

who I am

and who I’m gonna be

Evern though this brings pain

thinking of all I could have been

and how different I would be

if we hadn’t moved

so far away

But through the pain

I finally realized

coming back home

is what helped me heal

But for the first time

I felt free

everything I am

just faded clean away

For the first time

I could worry about me

who I was

who I am

and who I’m gonna be

This is my home

and as long as I’m alive

I will always have

somewhere safe to land

in the midst

of the storm we call life

so close your eyes

take a breath

welcome home

20130912-075415.jpg

Leave a Reply

